MCLP: Take a Bow

The following MCLP alumni, board members and friends won well-deserved applause recently. We honor their commitment to the community.
Mandava Rao, a graduate of the very first MCLP class (2010), is the 2016 Town of Normal Citizen of the Year. Mandava chairs the Normal Human Relations Commission, and is a frequent MCLP volunteer and long-time supporter.

Dexter O’Neal, MCLP class of 2015, and his band, Funk Yard, were named “Performer of the Year” by Peoria Magazine.

The YWCA’s Women of Distinction Award was a “who’s who” of MCLP alumni. Awarded the Harriett F. Rust Volunteer Service Award was Cheryl Hussain, 2014. The “Business” Woman of Distinction went to Jennifer Swearingen, 2015. Also nominated were MCLP alumni Stephanie Duquenne, 2014, Emily Vigneri, 2013 and Kari Sandhaas, 2012, plus past board members and volunteers Diana Hauman, Faye Freeman-Smith and Toni Tucker.

The COUNTRY Financial Community Service Award went to two MCLP alumni, Craig Luchtefeld, 2012, and Kari Sandhaas, 2012 for their volunteer work with Autism McLean. Craig and Kari both serve on the board for Autism McLean, which in turn, received the $1000 service award donation from COUNTRY. Craig and Kari are officers on the MCLP board, beginning their 5th year of service — Craig in the new role of Board Secretary as well as on the MCLP Marketing and Technology team, where he keeps the technology humming; and Kari now leading the organization as this year’s MCLP Board President.